RSS Feed

Oh Snap Gingersnaps! :)

The fall season is finally here! yay! I love fall as the weather transitions into winter, the smell of cinnamon and pumpkin are in the air, the green leaves change colors and the excitement for Thanksgiving day’s arrival. When I think of fall foods and treats (a whole other category!) I think of snicker doodles, pumpkin bars (my fav!) pumpkin pie (which i’m sorry to admit but is not my fav.), hot chocolate, chili, soups, carmel, and gingersnaps! Since where i live has not transitioned to that nice fall cool air and is still in 100 degrees weather, but hey were getting there!  Anyways since its too hot outside to start making soups and hot cocoa, cookies are a good option for any weather, hot or cold! And one of my favorite cookies that screams fall are my mom’s gingersnap! they are so good! so good that when you bite into them you’ll be like “Oh snap!” hehehe see what i did there with the “snap”.  Anyways back to the important matter here, COOKIES! 🙂 This recipe is my moms, which she has adapted from her grandma. They are amazing! and fally and gingery, and amazing! did i already say that? well then they’re double amazing good! hehehe.

These are a must try! so what are you waiting for go make some Oh snap gingersnaps! and enjoy the fall weather or if you’re like me and live somewhere hot wait for the weather to come!

http://apronstringschef.blogspot.com/2013/01/gingersnaps.html     here is where you can get the recipe that I used! It’s my favorite blog!

DSC_0125

Whisk together the dry ingredients.

Whisk together the dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl add the sugar and wet ingredients.  (a great tip my mom taught me was to spray your measuring cup with a baking spray before measuring the molasses so it slips rate out! mess free! )

In a separate bowl add the sugar and wet ingredients. (a great tip my mom taught me was to spray your measuring cup with a baking spray before measuring the molasses so it slips rate out! mess free! )

Mix the wet ingredients and then add your dry ingredients and mix.  I normally use my mixer, but i felt like being old fashioney after watching Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife( two amazing shows!) so i used a modern ld fashion egg beater, which is both quite fun and a wrist work out! but you can use a mixer or spatula too, both work well!

Mix the wet ingredients and then add your dry ingredients and mix. I normally use my mixer, but i felt like being old fashioney after watching Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife( two amazing shows!) so i used a modern old fashion egg beater, which is both quite fun and a wrist work out! but you can use a mixer or spatula too, both work well!

after mixing the dough. all you have to do is roll into balls and put in fridge for an hour,  and then take out and roll in sugar, bake, and my fav. part eat! and lastly say oh snap! because these cookies will taste amazing!  To get the full recipe and instructions go to the best blog ever www.apronstringschef.com.blogspot.com and search gingersnap.  click the recipe that pops up and read away! Just like i did! and enjoy your gingersnap cookies!

after mixing the dough. all you have to do is roll into balls and put in fridge for an hour, and then take out and roll in sugar, bake, and my fav. part eat! and lastly say oh snap! because these cookies will taste amazing! To get the full recipe and instructions go to the best blog ever http://www.apronstringschef.blogspot.com and search gingersnap. click the recipe that pops up and read away! Just like i did! and enjoy your gingersnap cookies!

DSC_0125http://apronstringschef.blogspot.com/2013/01/gingersnaps.html

love <3,

M

Leave a Reply

